Jacksonville Speedway Park

Speedway Park, or Jacksonville Speedway, different names for those hallowed grounds on the corner of Lenox Avenue and Plymouth Street in Jacksonville, Fl. From its 1947 opening until its death in 1973, Speedway Park played a significant role in stock car racing, not only in Florida, but nationwide. The NASCAR Grand National division raced at Jacksonville in 1951, 52, 54, 55, 61, finally concluding with Wendell Scott's incredible victory in November 1963.

Among the Jacksonville notables: Larry Flynn, David Ezell, Tiny Lund, Billy Yuma, Jimmy Lee Capps, Will Cagle, Bubba Into, Tom Pistone, Pee Wee Griffin, Earl Pearson, Sr., Eldon Yarbourgh, Lee Roy Yarborugh, Rod Eulenfeld, Jack Nolan, Jimmy Thompson, Bill Snowden, Curtis Turner, Harvey Jones, Jack Ethridge, Skimp Hersey, and Red Byron. The speedway even hosted a Grand National East event in 1972 won by David Pearson.

The grand old lady is now a housing development. Who'd seen that one coming?

Views: 1243

Tags: jacksonville, speedway park
Favorite of 1 person


You need to be a member of STOCK CAR RacersReunion to add comments!

Join STOCK CAR RacersReunion

Comment by Jerry Fike on June 24, 2013 at 8:58pm

Some other drivers that were regulars aty one time or another, were Tiny Lund, Tommy Riggins, Dennis Bennet, Terry Mock, Eddie McDonald Sr & Jr,  Rance Philliips, Frank Brantly, and Sam Sommers.  Near the end, Floyd Gilbert and Gene Petro ran a lot there and then at the new (Jacksonville) speedway.

Nope...We don't charge, but tips are accepted.

Featured Members

RacersReunion.com Marketing Partners